
VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES 
 

OFFICE OF PESTICIDE SERVICES 
 

GUIDELINES FOR ENFORCEMENT OF THE VIRGINIA PESTICIDE CONTROL ACT: 
CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT DECISION MATRIX 

 
Statutory Authority: § 3.2-3943 of the Code of Virginia (1950), as amended. 
 
§ 1.1 Definitions 
 
The following words and terms, when used in these guidelines, shall have the following meanings, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise: 
 

“Act” means the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, Chapter 39 of Title 3.2 (§§ 3.2-3900 through 3.2-3947) 
of the Code of Virginia (1950), as amended. 

 
“Board” means the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

 
“Pesticide Business” means any person engaged in the business of: distributing, applying, or recommending 
the use of a product; or storing, selling, or offering for sale pesticides directly to the user. The term “pesticide 
business” does NOT include (i) wood treaters not for hire; (ii) seed treaters not for hire; (iii) operations that 
produce agricultural products unless the owners or operators of such operations described in clauses (i), (ii), 
and (iii) are engaged in the business of selling or offering for sale pesticides, or distributing pesticides to 
persons outside of that agricultural producing operation in connection with commercial transactions; or (iv) 
businesses exempted by regulations adopted by the Board. 

 
“Previous Violation” means any violation of the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, or regulations adopted 
pursuant thereto, that resulted in a Notice of Warning or civil penalty cited within the three-year period 
preceding the current violation. 

 
“Reportable pesticide spill, accident, or incident” means any release of a pesticide into the environment in 
any manner not in accordance with instructions for use or disposal provided on the product label.  
 

§ 1.2 Provision for Civil Penalties Generally 
 

A.  The Board may assess a penalty of not more than $1,000 for a violation that is less than serious, not 
more than $5,000 for a serious violation, and not more than $20,000 for a repeat or knowing 
violation.*  

 
B.  The Board may assess an additional penalty of up to $100,000 for any violation that causes serious 

damage to the environment, causes serious injury to property; serious injury to, or death of, any 
person.* 

 
C.  Civil penalties may be imposed against a pesticide business or its employees for acts determined to 

be violations of the Pesticide Control Act or regulations of the Board. Each physical business location 
shall be treated as a separate entity. 

 
D.  Civil penalties may be imposed against any person for acts determined to be violations of the 

Pesticide Control Act or regulations of the Board. 
 
*Language taken from the Code of Virginia, § 3.2-3943, Part B 
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§ 1.3 Assessment of separate violations 
 

A.  Each violation of the Act, or regulations adopted pursuant thereto, shall be assessed separately for 
the purpose of determining the total civil penalty assessment. 

 
B.  In cases of continued violation, a civil penalty may be assessed separately for each day of the 

violation beginning with the date of notification of the violation and ending with the date of 
abatement. 

 
§ 1.4 Penalty Point System 
 
The point system described in this section shall be used to determine the amount of the civil penalty. 
 

A.  Type of violation 
 

A natural person or pesticide business in violation of the Act, or regulations adopted pursuant 
thereto, shall be assigned up to 10 points for the type of violation described in one of the following 
categories: 

 
Points     Violation Category 

 
1-2  Failing to comply with the regulations for certification or licensing, or the conditions 

of a certificate or license. 
 

1-2  Failing to meet all requirements regarding labeling, registration, color, composition, 
and container for a pesticide or device. 

 
1-2   Making any statement, declaration or representation through any medium implying 

that any natural person certified or registered under the provisions of Article 3 of the 
Act is recommended or endorsed by any agency of the Commonwealth. 

 
2-3   Applying any pesticide in a negligent manner. 

 
2-3  Failing to maintain proper records or permit access to records as required. 

 
2-3  Failing to notify Department of a reportable pesticide spill, accident, or incident. 

 
2-3  Dispensing, applying or using any pesticide through any equipment not in sound 

mechanical condition, or not properly equipped with effective cut-off valves, leak-
proof pesticide tanks and distribution systems, or not equipped to dispense a 
pesticide at the proper rate. 

 
2-4  Handling, transporting, storing, displaying, or distributing pesticides in a manner 

that may endanger humans, and the environment, or which may contaminate food, 
feed, or other products transported, displayed, stored, or distributed with pesticides. 

 
2-4 Making pesticide recommendations, or causing a natural person to use any pesticide, 

in a manner inconsistent with label directions or in violation of the Act, or regulations 
promulgated pursuant thereto. 
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2-4  Making false or fraudulent records, invoices or reports. 

 
3-6  Using any pesticide, or storing or disposing of any pesticide or container inconsistent 

with label directions or in violation of the Act, or regulations promulgated pursuant 
thereto. 

 
3  Providing one’s certification or registration to be used by another natural person. 

 
4  Using to fill pesticide handling, storage, or application equipment, any hose, pump, 

or other equipment that has not been fitted with an effective device to prevent back 
flow or back siphon. 

 
4  Providing or making available any restricted use pesticide to any natural person not 

certified to use such a pesticide. 
 

7-8  Aiding, abetting or conspiring with any natural person to violate the provisions of 
Article 3 of the Act, or regulations adopted pursuant thereto. 

 
8 Using fraud, or false claims involving pesticide sale or use, or involving licensing, 

certification, or registration requirements of the Act, or regulations adopted 
pursuant thereto. 

 
8  Making false or fraudulent claims misrepresenting the effect of materials or methods 

to be utilized or sold or the effects of a pesticide application on the environment or 
on human health and safety. 

 
10   Violating a stop sale, use, or removal order. 

 
10 Failure to comply with any lawful order of the Commissioner or the Board. 

 
10  Neglecting, or after notice, refusing to comply with the provisions of Article 5 of the 

Act, or regulations promulgated pursuant thereto. 
 

10  Interfering with the Commissioner or his duly authorized agents in the performance 
of duties. 

 
10  Impersonating any federal, state, county or city inspector or official. 

 
B.  Damage Caused or Potential for Causing Damage 

 
A natural person or pesticide business in violation of the Act, or regulations adopted pursuant 
thereto, shall be assigned up to 10 points for the real or potential damage associated with the 
violation, taking into consideration any harm to the environment and any hazard to public health and 
safety, as described in one of the following categories: 
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Points    Damage Category 
 

0  No actual or potential damage to the environment or threat to human health and 
safety. 

 
1-2  Slight actual or potential damage to property or the environment, or such threat to 

human health and safety. 
 

3-4  Moderate, but significant, actual damage to property or the environment; also, 
moderate, but significant, potential damage to property or the environment, or such 
threat to human health and safety. 

 
5-6  Serious actual damage to property or the environment; also, serious potential 

damage to property or the environment, or such threat to human health and safety. 
 

7-8  Very serious actual damage to property or the environment; also, very serious 
potential damage to property, the environment, or such threat to human health and 
safety. 

 
9-10  Extremely serious actual damage to property or the environment that may be 

irreparable, or which can be corrected only after a considerable effort or period of 
time; also, extremely serious potential damage to property or the environment, or 
such threat to human health and safety. 

 
C.  Culpability 

 
A natural person or pesticide business in violation of the Act, or regulations adopted pursuant 
thereto, shall be assigned up to six points, from one of the following categories, based on the degree 
of fault of the natural person to whom the violation was attributed: 

 
Points    Culpability Category 

 
0  No fault attributed; an inadvertent violation that was unavoidable by the exercise of 

reasonable care. 
 

1-2   Negligent. 
 

3–6   Knowing, aware of actions. 
 

D.  History of Previous Violations 
 

In determining the amount of a civil penalty, the history of previous violations of the pesticide 
business or natural person shall be considered. 
 
For current violations resulting from actions of a pesticide business, one point shall be assigned for 
each previous violation found that resulted from the actions of the pesticide business. Each physical 
business location shall be treated as a separate entity. 
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For current violations resulting from the actions of a natural person, one point shall be assigned for 
each previous violation found that is attributable to the same natural person cited in the current 
violation. 
 
Previous violations overturned through the appeal process shall not be counted. 
 
In instances where both the pesticide business and a natural person have been cited in the current 
case, and both have previous violations, points may be assigned for both. 

 
E.  Credit for good faith in attempting to achieve compliance. 

 
The demonstrated good faith of the natural person or pesticide business in attempting to achieve 
rapid compliance after notification of the violation shall be taken into consideration in determining 
penalty points. No more than four points may be deducted from the total points assigned under 
Subsections A, B, C, and D, based on the following categories: 

 
Points    Good Faith Credit Category 

 
3-4 Immediate action taken to abate the violation, and correct any conditions resulting 

from the violation, in the shortest possible amount of time. 
 

1-2  Prompt and diligent efforts made to abate the violation, and correct any conditions 
resulting from the violation, within a reasonable period of time. 

 
0   No points deducted. 

 
F.  Determination of base civil penalty 
 

The total penalty point amount shall be determined by adding the points assigned under Subsections 
A, B, C, and D, and subtracting from that subtotal the points assigned under Subsection E of this 
Section. The resulting total penalty point amount is converted to a dollar amount, according to Table 
A. 

 
G.  Reduction of Penalty 

 
In the case of a less than serious violation where no previous violation exists, the base civil penalty 
may be reduced by 20 percent. In the case of a serious violation or a previous violation, the base civil 
penalty shall not be reduced. 

 
H.  Additional penalty for causing serious damage, illness, or death 

 
An additional penalty of up to $100,000 may be assessed for any violation that causes serious 
damage to the environment, serious injury to property, or serious injury to or death of any person. 
Each serious incident shall be examined on a case-by-case basis, taking into consideration the 
severity of the damage or injury, the potential long-term effects, and any economic loss involved. 
The basis for an additional assessment shall be fully explained and documented in the records of the 
case. 
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§ 1.5 Waiver of Use of Formula to Determine Civil Penalty 
 

A.  The Board may waive the use of the formula contained in Section 1.4 to set the civil penalty, if the 
Board determines that, taking into account exceptional factors present in the particular case, the 
penalty is demonstrably unjust. The basis for every waiver shall be fully explained and documented in 
the records of the case. 

 
B.  If the Board waives the use of the formula, it shall give a full written explanation of the basis for any 

penalty assessment to the natural person or pesticide business found in violation. 
 
 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
Office of Pesticide Services 
September 1995 (published revision) 
December 2003 (reformatted) 
February 2009 (code citations updated) 
July 2012 (reference to Board of Agriculture & Consumer Services updated) 
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TABLE A 
For converting total penalty points into base civil penalty 

 
Points   Dollars   Points   Dollars 

 
1  $  50   21  $  7000 

 
2   100   22   7500 

 
3   150   23   8000 

 
4   200   24   8500 

 
5   350   25   9000 

 
6   500   26   9500 

 
7   650   27   10000 

 
8   800   28   10500 

 
9   1000   29   11000 

 
10   1500   30   11500 

 
11   2000   31   12000 

 
12   2500   32   12500 

 
13   3000   33   13000 

 
14   3500   34   14000 

 
15   4000   35   15000 

 
16   4500   36   16000 

 
17   5000   37   17000 

 
18   5500   38   18000 

 
19   6000   39   19000 
 
20   6500   40   20000 


